FX35 Intake Cooling Reroute Increased HP??

A forum for lovers of Infiniti's hot-rod crossover, the FX! In 2014, all FX models will be named Infiniti QX70, in line with Infiniti's new naming structure.
rrack

Curious if anyone has seen this: http://www.gofastperformance.c...=3625

Their claim:

"Go Fast Performance introduces another simple yet innovative part for improving the performance of your engine. Our Intake Cooling System reroutes engine coolant around the throttle body which reduces temperatures and increases horsepower. "

I hadn't had a chance to take a look at what they could possibly be talking about yet. Their kit looks like a simple hose. Anyone know what this is?

azfx35
Car: '07 FX35

I'm no expert but that doesn't sound right to me. Coolant temps in modern cars run over 200 degrees. I would think the air and fuel going in are less than that unless they are routed near somwthing real hot.

Any performance guys know?

rrack

Yeah, I know. The coolant would really heat the intake up. I was under the impression that they were saying that they would use the coolant to cool the intake. However, after a little more digging, I believe that they give instructions and a hose to reroute the coolant away from the intake. I haven't taken a look at the FX intake set-up quite yet but why on earth would Infiniti have the coolant wrapped around the intake? I've never seen any car with coolant running anywhere near the intake other than turbo systems. Anyway, if it's such an easy mod, I've gotta try and figure out what they are talking about and not pay them $16 for 6 inches of 1/4 hose.

Chris92SE
Car: 2017 QX30
2003 Pathfinder LE

If you are serious about increasing the gains on your FX, just look to some G35/350z mods.

You can get a 5/16 plenum spacer. You can buy them for about $200 and it has proven whp gains of 10-15, no BS.

It has been suggested to me to get headers, too. Those can be found from about $200 and up.

uprev