First Post, Background, Advice (240z)

A forum for owners of S30 and S130 Datsun Z's... 240Z, 260Z, 280Z and 280ZX!
Dyanagi
Car: '72 Datsun 240z

Hello All!!!
This is my first post on this forum and I am excited to get to know you all and learn a ton. I hope my post is on topic, if not please tell me and I'll move it to the correct forum.

About me: Essentially I have very little car knowledge. I know a bit but really have never worked on cars in depth. My knowledge is basically limited to watching Mighty Car Mods and other youtube videos like that. I have done basic maintenance on my family's cars but I have never really gotten into anything too heavy.
I really want to use this forum to learn about how to make a car run, then how to make it run the way I want it to :naughty: My bucket list goal is to run the Baja 1000 with my brother one day.

So why am I on the Datsun board?

Well is my predicament/plan. My father has a '72 240Z in my grandma's garage in California. My brother and I have been planning on getting it out to Michigan (where we live now) for several years. Our plan is to use the Datsun to learn how to work on cars. I will need to rely on you heavily for advice on how to go about doing this (I hope this is okay).
I found out that the car probably hasn't been started in about 15-20 years (not to say that it can't, just that no one has). I obviously don't want to just go and turn it over considering it has been sitting.

My first hypothetical is... say I have a week or two to travel to the car and work on it (I don't right now but I want to know). What should I do to get it running? I'm obviously not gonna drive it across the country until I know it can handle the trip.
My Guess: flush the engine, oil change, change the battery, new tires for sure. Also get all the black widows who have probably made their home in there out. What else would you say though?

Cheers and sorry for the long post.

djwarner
Car: 1971 240Z Series I
2006 350Z