Engine running rich - '94 D21 - Also general maintenance

Forum for the Xterra, Frontier and Hardbody, the smaller workhorses of the Nissan lineup!
LazerD21
Car: 1994 Nissan D21 XE

Just got done tearing apart the interior of my 1994 XE, 4 cyl 2WD (134K miles, ka24 mostly stock) to replace old body plugs and get rid of a mouse nest... Now that I'm in the fix my s*** mode, I would love to get some insight or links to other posts from you creatures.

Plethora of issues consist of:
  • Engine running rich - White smoke when warming up, smells a bit like gas
  • Slight ticking in the engine
  • Losing some coolant. It's going somewhere, but oil looked good when changing

Things done to the truck recently:
  • Oil change yesterday
  • Temp sensor change
  • Air Flow sensor replace (the one under the air filter box)

I'm far from a mechanic so any other general maintenance suggestions are welcome too. Haven't changed transmission oil yet but that's on the list.
Also, don't have the owners manual and I can't find it online so any tips on where to find is also welcome.

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
Car: 2013 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

LazerD21 wrote:
Sat Feb 19, 2022 10:06 pm
  • Engine running rich - White smoke when warming up, smells a bit like gas
  • Slight ticking in the engine
  • Losing some coolant. It's going somewhere, but oil looked good when changing

Check compression. If the oil wasn't fuel-contaminated, then your white smoke probably isn't injectors. It's entirely possible to have a head gasket leak that penetrates the cooling jacket but not the oil gallery, and it sounds like that may be your issue.

whomadewho
Car: 1997 Nissan pickup

I agree with VStar650CL sounds like coolant is entering the combustion chamber. POSSIBLY head gasket, cracked head or block. Where’s the engine temp at warmed up? Besides checking compression who might consider doing a leak down test on the cooling system by using a radiator testing tool.

LazerD21