Ecoplus gas saver - does anyone use it? Scam or Slam?

Nissan Rogue forum - Includes Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Dualis as well.
nabril
Car: 2015 Nissan Rogue SL

Good morning
I just stumbled onto this, and it got my curious.
https://getecoplus.com/?cid=wna176l2vce ... 4090114031

It's a gas saving device that plugs into the OBD2 connector and supposedly saves gas by adjusting fuel output and pressure. The reviews are overwhelmingly positive, which makes you think about who might have left them.

Does anyone here have it?

Lone Wolff
Car: 2015 Nissan Rogue SL AWD
2010 Ford F150 Lariat 4x4 5.4L
2010 Ford Fusion SEL

I'm not an engineer, but I would be surprised if that is nothing more than a plastic plug that does nothing at all. Any reduction in fuel consumption is simply placebo effect?

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
Car: 2013 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

Anything plugged into the OBD port can "spoof" the ECM and TCM in various ways to manipulate mixture, throttle response, TC lockup, etc. So it isn't out of the question that it could serve the same purpose as the "Eco" button on many Nissans. However, there's no free lunch. Anybody who's driven a Nissan in Eco mode knows it makes for sluggish performance and poor responsiveness.

What makes me leery of this particular device is some of their advertising, claiming "eco friendliness" and in one place even claiming it eliminates CO2. That's obvious BS. So if your car lacks an Eco button and you wish it had one, this gadget might be worth a try, but don't expect it to work without compromising performance. If it works to save gas, it will slow you down, guaranteed.

casperfun
Car: 2009 Nissan Rogue SL AWD - Indigo Blue

Personally, it’s no different then the eco displays you see on cars. I previously used my Garmin when the green leaf went to 99, I was saving gas.

Well that got boring real quick and never use it really anymore. We get it, gas off the pedal saves gas, and off it, wastes gas. :bowrofl: