Driver's side highbeam is out

A home for 1983–1989 300ZX owners!
emuskovitz
Car: 1987 Nissan 300zx non-turbo

I have an 87 300zx GLL model and I can't get my left highbeam working. The symptoms are a bit odd: Both lowbeams work fine, but when I switch to highbeams I the driver's side beam doesn't work. The weird part is that the light works while the housings are actively moving up. So if I toggle my high beams on with the headlights switch off, and then I turn the switch to on, the driver's side highbeam will be lit until the housing is fully up. My first guess was that a wire was getting pinched but I've checked for that and it's not the case. I measured the voltage from various pins on the connectors and found a normal 12 volts on everything except the power lead for the light in question, which sits between 5 and 7 volts. This is my first time doing electrical work on this car and it's not off to a great start. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Ace2cool
Car: 1991 Nissan 300ZX TT
1966 Datsun Fairlady 1600
2005 Suzuki GSX-R 600
1974 Honda CB550 Four
2009 Ford F150 Lariat

Obviously you have tried a new bulb, correct?

amc49
Car: '11 Nissan Versa
'17 Nissan Altima

The wire does not have to be externally broken or pinched to be flawed internally from the repeat directional changes. Broken all the way across to simply barely touch could easily account for the only partial volts there. May also touch to work or not depending on how the headlight assembly moves. The copper wire inside will break before the plastic insulation if it is still pliable.

And yes, if the bulb broke a filament on one end it could work then not work depending on how the headlight shell movement positions it. You can do a bulb swap to check that quick enough.

evildky
Car: 71 240ZT, 87 300ZXN/A-T, 06 350Z GT, Tundra TRD RW

Another vote for the filament. if it's not he bulb I'd suspect the combination switch, this is common part to fail, usually on the low beam side of the switch.