Do I have a ghost -- things are happing all by themselves

Nissan Rogue forum - Includes Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Dualis as well.
coffenut
Car: 2015 Nissan Rogue

Greetings all. I have a rather odd mechanical question for you. Mind you, I am a complete noob when it comes to anything mechanical, so ..... my 2015 Rogue has a mind of it's own (it's either that, or I have a ghost) when taking right hand turns. Not every time, but it seems that if I am taking a righthand turn with any speed & pressure, my doors lock & unlock and the interior lights flash on and off. It happens once in the turn and that's it. It does not happen when I take left hand turn and it does not seem to happen if I go really slowly.

Any ideas what might be causing this? I know I'll most likely have to bring it into a mechanic, but I would like to have some idea ahead of time.

Lone Wolff
Car: 2015 Nissan Rogue SL AWD
2010 Ford F150 Lariat 4x4 5.4L
2010 Ford Fusion SEL

Def sounds electrical. Like something is shifting or shorting during lateral load/pressure in that direction only. Most likely something under the hood as opposed to inside the interior.
Check the battery and cables first. Make sure nothing there is moving. Or 'capable of moving' I guess would be a better way to describe it.

Wife had similar symptoms when her alternator was failing on an older car several years ago. But that was a constant tripping of the power locks on/off. Not for a specific direction turns.

If it's nothing obvious, maybe take it to auto parts store to see if they can pull any codes that may have been thrown? Sometimes computers will throw an error/fault code(s) even without ever actually tripping the Check Engine Light.

coffenut
Car: 2015 Nissan Rogue

Lone Wolff wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:21 pm
Def sounds electrical. Like something is shifting or shorting during lateral load/pressure in that direction only. Most likely something under the hood as opposed to inside the interior.