DIY rim scuff advice?

Shocks, springs, sway bars, coliovers, bushings, brakes, wheels, tires - This is the place to discuss G-Series suspension modifications!
Steverinie

Hey everybody! Total newbie here. Sorry to be introducing myself with such a selfish post, but hopefully this might help some other people out down the line ...

I just got a new G35 coupe about a week and a half ago. I've been on cloud nine ever since; it's my first new car and my last vehicle was a Camry that I got USED in '96 and had over 200K mi. It's been pure joy driving the coupe these last ten days (although I have a feeling I'm getting some pretty terrible fuel mileage right now, hehe) ...

Well, lo and behold, I pulled a LIP JOB in a fast food drive-through today. It's real sad b/c the car is pristine other than that. But that's all the more reason to get it fixed, right? However since it's not a huge gaff (about a 4 inch scrape on the edge, not the face) and since this might not be the last time this happens no matter how careful I am, I thought it might be useful to find a way to fix this myself rather than having a pro do it. I've looked all over the web and the closest thing I've found is this article:

http://www.audiworld.com/tech/ext43.shtml(btw, my scuff looks very similar to the one in the picture on that site)

It's for a "Porsche painted wheel". I have the 18" aluminum alloy (the tire & wheel package). Will the method from that website work on my rim? Do I need a different paint? Should I stop visiting drive-through???

Anyways, I thought I'd post here before going to the general Infiniti forum because you guys (and gals) seem like a tighter bunch and this is the forum I'll probably be visiting from now on anyways. Big THANKS in advance for any advice/help you can give!!! I don't really know much about cars, but I'm trying to learn.

joe603
Car: 2014 Durango R/T

Wow, I wonder if that would work on our rims...3 of 4 are scuffed on mine!