Dealer wants $3K to replace both cats and rear o2 sensors. Any non problematic options?

Forum for the Xterra, Frontier and Hardbody, the smaller workhorses of the Nissan lineup!
G2Xterrafied
Car: 2005 Xterra G2 V6 Off Road

:confused: 2005 xterra. 96k miles. Heard I could just remove cats and bolt back up or bypass cats with some kind of spark plug adapter or hollow them out and re-install shells...idk. I am concerned about what else may happen if I start jerry rigging stuff. Any solid advice would be appreciated greatly. Im a disabled vet on a small disability income. $3k is alot for me. We live in oregon if that helps with advice.

AZhitman
Administrator
Car: 58 L210, 63 Bluebird RHD, 64 NL320, 65 SPL310, 66 411 RHD, 67 WRL411, 68 510 SR20, 75 280Z RB25, 77 620 SR20, 79 B310, 90 S13, 92 SE-R, 92 Silvia Qs, 98 S14.

Welcome aboard!

First question: Do you have emissions testing where you live? If not, keep driving it. Seems low mileage for the cats to be shot.

Don't hollow them out. There's all kinds of bad stuff in a catcon (bad for you and bad for the environment).
You can purchase a full replacement set for $300: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Fits-2005-2011 ... 2682983977
O2 sensors are inexpensive as well: https://www.ebay.com/i/273463193786

Installation is simple, we'll be here to help. Thank you for your service.

G2Xterrafied