Datsun 2dr 510 model 69-71?

Discussion forum for the venerable 510, and its non-US counterparts, the Datsun 1600 and Bluebird.
BetlogElite
Car: nissan titan

Newbie here and I want to know all about this car... I was interested in it when I went to the race at Qualcom stadium here in San Diego, there were like 8 of them in a row, I was with a racer friend who has a little bit of knowledge about this car and told me that It has a very good potencials as a drag car, for me of course I will not drag at this time for I dont have the car at the moment... Im really interested in the 510 2 door cars so here's my big question( I know for ya'll it isnt) whats the difference between the 1969, 1970, and 1971? as for the body do they look similar? any changes of body style of each year? If by any chance can please post some pictures if ya'll dont mind?I have lot more questions regarding this type of car and hoping to ya'll who are fanatics can help me out.Thanks.

Roy

Gensaiken
Car: 71 Datsun 510

Well, they aren't really meant for drag racing but they can do it. They are really meant for twisty roads and auto X.

Anyways, the diffrences.

1969: This was the first year for the 510 (ok, 68 actually). This would be the one to avoid. There were a lot of things on this model year that are specific to ONLY that year. Mostly odd body parts. You can identify them by the arrow front markers on the sides of the fender and the round dot rear marker light on the rear quarter panel. They also have a very diffrent dash than all of the later 510s. I would avoid a 69 if you can, just a hassle. The good pieces from a 69 would be the front engine crossmember because of the lower mounting points of the LCAs (lower control arms). So when you lower the car they are straight instead of at an angle with the later style. Not a big diffrence but some people care.