CVT teardown with common failure mode discussion

Nissan Rogue forum - Includes Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Dualis as well.
PeterH_605
Car: 2014 Rogue SL AWD

I found this video in my youtube feed and sounds it very interesting and educational. Wanted to pass it along for information.

casperfun
Car: 2009 Nissan Rogue SL AWD - Indigo Blue

I saw this video too, then fast forward it. It really went over my head since I'm no mechanic, already saw a similar breakdown with the Pine Hollow fellow.

I did find the brother and wife's clothing used as garage rags kinda funny. :laugh:

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
Car: 2013 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

Yah, the wife's "something or other" was pretty hilarious! He's reasonably knowledgeable, but dead wrong about the causes and prevention of wear. Forgiveable, fluid film dynamics at the level of molecular shear is a rough hoe, more of a chemical "black art" than Newtonian push-pull. The fact is, contrary to what he says, the "compact car" units all demonstrably beat the fluid up faster than the big boys. While no one I know of has studied the causes publicly, the only obvious explanation is higher per-square shear loads and, as a consequence, higher per-square heat generation. All things being equal, without fluid changes, a Pathy toting 3000 lbs will probably still outlast an Altima with a leadfoot owner, mainly due to a high-capacity cooler and a gigantic belt. Incidentally, he's also wrong about the rebuildability (some are, some aren't).

darylzero
Car: Nissan Rogue 2009 SL AWD Premium Pkg.

VStar650CL wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 5:37 pm