Cut weight.

1980-1986 Datsun 720 forums. All 720-specific topics and discussion can be found here.
85NIS720
Car: '85 Nissan 720

I'm trying to cut some weight on my 720. I've already replaced the bulky steel rear bumper with a roll pan and replaced the tailgate with a tailgate net, which cut out a pretty good chunk of weight. Any more ideas?

Oh, and here's a recent picture of my truck(I hope it works, I'm still a noob.)

And one with the net/roll pan. Still "under construction".

PEZi
Car: Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX Mitsubishi Racing Edition

well this is my specialty lol

you can... remove bumper and tailgate... which you already did...

remove spare tire?

remove headlights and wipers along with wiper motor

also you can strip everything out of the engine bay except for the engine

and of course make your interior look like this

85NIS720

Thanks dude. Already removed spare tire, took out the wiper fluid reservoir, and probably about to take out a few more unnecessary items.

Project Trucker
Car: Datsun 720 pickup

i kinda got the same thing you guys got going on my tailgate was all messed up and bent, warped, twisted, rusted, and my friend messed it up even more so i got a tailgate net bully not pro net (pro net is to expensive for me lol only $10 bucks more) then i custom fabricated a piece that uses the original holes to screw in the net but i need to replace the wood with metal.

85NIS720

I originally ordered a Bully net, which was going to be like $20, but it was discontinued so they ordered the Pro Net which came out to be $30. It was a breeze to install and came with forged steel brackets, just needed to drill four holes in my bed.

Project Trucker

aye i needed to drill in holes in mine to but i didnt want to mess up so i just created a wood bracket it would have been ok the first time i installed it but my buddy named lance ruined that

85NIS720