Custom Drivetrain

Discuss topics related to the VG and VE series engines.
wytbishop

Hello everyone...

this is my first post, so please bear with me if I inadvertantly ask a stupid question. I am a nerdy engineer type and I'm in the VERY early stages of planning a custom build. Step 1 is choosing a powerplant and transmission combination that meets my design criteria.

They are:

1) Truly epic power must be possible. Not necessarily out of the box, but expandability must allow me to reach 400+hp.
2) I don't want to have to push the engine near it's reliable limits to acheive item #1.
3) It must be FWD.

The chassis I plan to build will be mid or rear engine and will be built around the engine/tranny combo I select so space and standard fitment issues will not apply. I simply need to find a combination of engine and transmission that will work together.

I was first attracted to the RB26 engine because well, 600+ would be a piece of cake, if not cheap, but I don't want to get into Porche gearboxes and adapters as that would easily push me over $12k just on drivetrain. I then looked at the SR20 GTiR options. That looks promising but I'm worried that the really big power might be too much for that engine in terms of reliability. Then I was led to the VG30.

Now here's where I potentially look stupid...the VG30E was used in the 92-94 Maxima SE with a FWD manual tranny. Will that tranny work with a VG30DETT? Do all the VG engines use the same block casting? The VG30DETT is easily capable of the power levels I want to run but can the Maxima tranny hold 400+?

Do you have any other suggestions for a strong reliable combination that I haven't thought of?

I really appreciate any help you can offer. The Nissan world is very complicated. I've been reading for a couple of days and I'm starting to confuse myself.

float_6969
Car: CA18DET swapped 1995 Nissan 240sx (too many mods to list)
2015 SV Leaf w/QC & Bose (daily)