Credit Report Information

Troubleshooting, DIY's, How-To's and articles about all Nissan vehicles. Non-vehicle specific "General" How-To and tech information is also here.
Article Manager

Hey Everyone,I thought I would share my knowledge of credit reports with everyone since there are some new threads out there about FICO scores. First let me say that I am a commercial loan officer and credit underwriter so I am very knowledgable about the bureaus. First FICO is Fair Isaac Credit Organization, a company based in California. The highest FICO score is 850. 800-850 is excellent credit. 700-800 is good. 650-700 is ok but could be better. Anything below a 620 and typically you cannot get a loan or a mortgage and likely not even a credit card. There is also what is called a New Risk score. Depending on where you are in the country they may either use FICO or New Risk. With FICO the higher the score the better. With New Risk it is the opposite. The lower the better.

The three bureaus are Experian, Equifax, and Trans Union. I am in Dallas and Experian is headquartered here so almost everything in Texas is pulled through Experian. If you do not check your reports often you should. You should check them once every 6 months by logging on to any of the bureau websites. You can buy a copy of all three reports and your credit score for like $35. It is important that you check all three as there may be items on one that do not show on the other two. The only way to see everything is to have all three reports.

Now there are alot of things that can effect you score such as inquiries, late payments, collections, charge-offs, settlements, balance to limit ratios, public records, etc.