Converting my Rogue from AWD to FWD?

Nissan Rogue forum - Includes Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Dualis as well.
lday8610
Car: 08 Rogue

Hi, I am a car novice. I drive only on city strees and highways. For about a year my car has made a progressively worse sound when I turn sharply. After a couple of visits to various mechanics, I believe the problem is my rear differential. I don't want to pay the multiple $1,000s to replace it. One mechanic suggested I remove the rear drive shaft, converting my AWD to a FWD. He indicated this will have little impact on my driving since I'm in a consistent climate (SoCal). He also said he'd keep the shaft and re-install it when I go to trade the car in.

I need some help! I am nervous to alter my car in this way but the grinding sound is unbearable, plus it's getting worse. I want to try and keep my car for as long as I can since it's paid off.

Advice wanted! Am I crazy to consider the conversion? Do you think it will put undue strain on the front of my car? Help!

ImStricken06
Car: 2008 Rogue(sold)
2013 Santa Fe
2016 Sorento

lday8610 wrote:Hi, I am a car novice. I drive only on city strees and highways. For about a year my car has made a progressively worse sound when I turn sharply. After a couple of visits to various mechanics, I believe the problem is my rear differential. I don't want to pay the multiple $1,000s to replace it. One mechanic suggested I remove the rear drive shaft, converting my AWD to a FWD. He indicated this will have little impact on my driving since I'm in a consistent climate (SoCal). He also said he'd keep the shaft and re-install it when I go to trade the car in.

I need some help! I am nervous to alter my car in this way but the grinding sound is unbearable, plus it's getting worse. I want to try and keep my car for as long as I can since it's paid off.

Advice wanted! Am I crazy to consider the conversion? Do you think it will put undue strain on the front of my car? Help!