Considering buying a 2012

The web's first forum dedicated to Nissan's groundbreaking electric car, the Nissan Leaf.
schuylkill
Car: 2004 Nissan Quest SE

So if I can get a ride I want to go check out a 2012 Leaf with 25000 miles on it that is about 96 miles from me. I'm told the range is now 58 miles. Can anyone give me advice on the best way to find charging locations along the route? I have zero knowledge of how charging works. Can you just pay with a credit card? I don't know if this drive is possible but I hope so, I'd like to check out and hopefully buy this car. I will use it mostly for local running around. I have 100% renewable here at home so its something I want to try and feel good about. Supposedly 2012 is a good year for the early models.

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
Car: 2013 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

If there are Nissan dealers along the way, they'll all have level 2 chargers you can generally use for free.

schuylkill

Hey VStar650CL still wrenching? Will the cable that comes with the car work on the level 2 chargers? Enjoy the weekend!

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

The Level1 that comes with the car and Level2's at the dealerships both use the same charge port connection. It probably doesn't have a CHAdeMO fast-charge port on a '12.

schuylkill

It's not the SL model so it doesn't have the fast charge port. There are dealerships along the way and one is about half way and I might just make it on the one charge. Transport would be $400 so if I get it I'm driving it. I called the dealership and they said charging is available 24/7 but I'm guessing there's only one available. The cable is on the charger I was told. If I get close to home and it goes into turtle I'm hoping a friend with a trailer will pick me up.