Comparing Frontier to Tacoma

Forum for the Xterra, Frontier and Hardbody, the smaller workhorses of the Nissan lineup!
SoCal 12r
Car: 94 bmw 325is 03ZX12R

hello, new to the forum, my name is Brent and I'm shopping for a new truck and hoping someone can offer some advice especially with comparisons between Nissan and Toyota (pros and cons) but also general Frontier owner feedback would be great too...

basically I'm looking at 06, 4dr crew cab, (long bed if Tacoma) V6 with auto tranny (honda has priced themselves out of consideration). I'd be using the truck occasionally as a daily driver, I have a Ninja 12r for the daily grind... mostly it would be for grocery getter, some camping, fishing and hunting or anytime I want to get something that doesnt fit in my backpack on the bike. I dont get into serious offroading to much because I dont like to fix whatever is gonna get seriously bent/broken or otherwise destroyed, so if I were to get the Nismo offroad stuff it would probably just be for cool looks and the random hunting trip :p

From what I've observed so far...

Nissan seems to have like 20 more hp and pounds of torqueNissan is a few thousand cheaperNissan offers leather upholstery (big plus)warranties and milage seem comparableone thing I dont really like is I'm limited to short bed only on Nissanpersonal preferance thing, I think the Tacoma looks nicer but Nissan still ok!

How come Tacoma's are outselling the Nissan's so much? At least in San Diego it must easily be 10:1 I see on the road, (and it seems like every Tacoma here is silver)

Are there any problems with Frontier that are responsible for such a large difference? I know Toyota historically has a better brand name, but it seems like thats been getting slimmer and slimmer over the years...

appreciate any comments, thanks!

MinisterofDOOM
Car: 1962 Corvair Monza
1961 Corvair Lakewood
1974 Unimog 404
1997 Pathfinder XE
2005 Lincoln LS8
Former:
1995 Q45t
1993 Maxima GXE
1995 Ranger XL 2.3