Can I use this harness?

Information on the naturally-aspirated KA24E and KA24DE engines.
WiddleyScudds
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:15 pm
Car: '93 S13
'95 KA24DE

Can I use this harness?

Postby WiddleyScudds » Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:20 pm

Hey guys, hope you're all having a great day. I found a really cheap KA24DE harness I want to buy but it's for a '93 KA24DE. I have a '95 KA24DE in a '93 chassis. Should I buy it? Will it work?


User avatar
centralcoaster33
Moderator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:41 am
Car: 240SX #5-1997
Location: Central Coast, CA

Re: Can I use this harness?

Postby centralcoaster33 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:51 pm

Maybe. I think sensors have changed, but maybe not if it's an early '95 vs late and a late '93 vs early. I've had both early 95 and late 93 nd they're very similar. But EVAP system changes in mid '95 and maybe the MAP Barrow system is added, so it really depends. What you should do is look at the distributor plugs and sensor plugs. You can check the factory service manuals between the two. A quick check might just be counting plugs. If that's the same, then getting in closer and checking the nature/ shape of the plugs.

Of course if yours is working fine, then you should not mess with another. Spare parts are fine, but this would be low priority as a spare in my opinion.

Welcome to NICO Club!

WiddleyScudds
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:15 pm
Car: '93 S13
'95 KA24DE

Re: Can I use this harness?

Postby WiddleyScudds » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:33 pm

centralcoaster33 wrote:Maybe. I think sensors have changed, but maybe not if it's an early '95 vs late and a late '93 vs early. I've had both early 95 and late 93 nd they're very similar. But EVAP system changes in mid '95 and maybe the MAP Barrow system is added, so it really depends. What you should do is look at the distributor plugs and sensor plugs. You can check the factory service manuals between the two. A quick check might just be counting plugs. If that's the same, then getting in closer and checking the nature/ shape of the plugs.

Of course if yours is working fine, then you should not mess with another. Spare parts are fine, but this would be low priority as a spare in my opinion.

Welcome to NICO Club!
Many thanks. I plan on removing the old one soon and comparing. I went ahead and bought it because i was able to talk him down to $40 and the one in right now was not taken care of/painted over/fragile and hacked apart. I will get back to you when it arrives which will be soon. Honestly, just by the few pictures he provided, it looks to be in better condition than the current harness.

User avatar
centralcoaster33
Moderator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:41 am
Car: 240SX #5-1997
Location: Central Coast, CA

Re: Can I use this harness?

Postby centralcoaster33 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:42 am

Okay, good haggling on your part. $40 seems worth spending.

WiddleyScudds
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:15 pm
Car: '93 S13
'95 KA24DE

Re: Can I use this harness?

Postby WiddleyScudds » Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:26 pm

centralcoaster33 wrote:Okay, good haggling on your part. $40 seems worth spending.
It just came in. Looks better already without even removing it from the box yet. Hard to believe its a 93, it's a bit cold I might bust it out tomorrow. My harness is hacked to s*** :rotfl

User avatar
centralcoaster33
Moderator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:41 am
Car: 240SX #5-1997
Location: Central Coast, CA

Re: Can I use this harness?

Postby centralcoaster33 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:48 pm

Hack was a very popular term the last decade lol. Hack your phone, hack your wardrobe, life hack, hack your microwave, hack your wiring harness, etc. Lot's of "hacks" out there! :crazy:

User avatar
centralcoaster33
Moderator
Posts: 2772
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:41 am
Car: 240SX #5-1997
Location: Central Coast, CA

Re: Can I use this harness?

Postby centralcoaster33 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:49 pm

BTW, if you haven't found out already, each plug can be taken apart to access the terminals inside. That may be useful if you have to swap a plug for whatever reason.


Return to “KA24E / KA24DE Forum”