CA18DET swap to an S14

Discuss topics related to the CA18DE and CA18DET series engines.
Buttons06
Car: 1995 Nissan 240SX
1990 Nissan 240SX SE

Okay, I've been searching for a couple days but haven't found any definitive answer yet. I was wondering if the stock S14 240SX drive shaft would work on a CA18DET swap, or if I'd have to get a different one. Well I'll need a different one regardless since my S14 is an auto for now anyway, I just wanted to know if I could just grab a cheap stock one and use, just to get the car going down the road once I get the engine. I'm thinking the stock s14 driveshaft would work, but I don't have the engine yet or the shaft, so I've got no way to test it.

Thanks guys

And I guess you could say I'm new to the whole S14 thing, but I got this car from my ex a couple years ago and I like it, but my brother managed to kill the timing in the KA and somehow drove it home a couple months ago, so I'm just going to do a swap.

Okay, I searched again after getting off work, and found the answer out, so I guess disregard this post. lol
Last edited by Buttons06 on Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bimeur
Car: rs13 '94/ca18det

If i remember well, the only difference, is the ABS/NON-ABS DS, for the rest, they are the same.

float_6969
Car: CA18DET swapped 1995 Nissan 240sx (too many mods to list)
2015 SV Leaf w/QC & Bose (daily)

S14 is fine, but as bimeur said, make sure you get an ABS driveshaft if you have an ABS car, and vice versus. The length is different and you can't mix them.

Buttons06
1990 Nissan 240SX SE

Alright. Yeah, read something about that, knew the driveshafts were different, but stopped looking as I already knew I didn't have abs.
Anyway, I'm going to get an engine from Sunrise JDM Motors unless I can find another good place to get it. Comes with: