Brakes...Rotors need to be turned?

The Nissan Versa Tech Discussion forum is the place to discuss Versa performance modifications and maintenance.
somdamon
Car: 2008 Versa SL Hatchback

I'm a proud 2008 Versa SL Hatchback owner for 2 weeks now. Just hit 550 miles and took the car to the dealer to have a vibration when breaking checked out. I was told my rotors had "hot spots" and needed to be turned. I am a very conservative driver and easy on brakes. I do not understand how a new car with 550 miles on it would need the rotors turned? Anyone else have this experience? Seriously considering taking the car back to dealer and demanding new rotors be installed.

Comments and feedback welcome!

frankoV
Car: 2008 SL Sedan, Magnetic Grey, CVT

They turn rotors down there? Here they just replace them -- say it isn't worth turning them because . . . well, let's face it, it's because they make more money that way.

I'd be pushing for replacements for sure.

bigdog
Car: 2007 versa s 2007 xterra 1982 dodge truck

possable they may have been warped from factory,which could cause vibration,turning them would most likely give them a flat surface like the should have & it should be under warrenty regardless. wifes xterra had is an 07 and 3500 miles on it and we had to get dealer to turn her rotors due to the brakes squealing & slight vibration

BigMACKenzie
Car: 1993 240sx convertible

how much are they charging you to turn the rotors? Its really about the thickness of your rotors, if they are glassy and smooth and within specs (thickness wise) its fairly helpfull to turn the rotors, esp when you get new pads. it helps brake them in and gives a better surface to bite into as well as decrease noise.

somdamon

The dealer is not charging me for turning the rotors, however, I thought it was particularly strange that they should even need turning at 546 miles!

Does this not indicate defective rotors? I am confused...

somdamon