Blown head gasket

A forum for lovers of Infiniti's hot-rod crossover, the FX! In 2014, all FX models will be named Infiniti QX70, in line with Infiniti's new naming structure.
rajswetan
Car: FX35, 120K miles

I am a complete novice to car related mechanical issues. Recently took my FX35 which had about 120K miles to a repair shop with good yelp review in suwanee , GA . Completed a 120K service and got the coolant drained and replaced. After i got the car back ran it for about 40/50 miles and got a check engine light. Towed it back to the repair shop and they replaced radiator, waterpump, thermostat and ran diagnostics and mentioned i have a blown head gasket. Checked the price tag and it was going to be close to 3K. I have asked the repair shop to go ahead with the service. My question is as follows

* Is it possible the coolant drain performed incorrectly may have caused this issue ?
* Is the price tag of 3K for head gasket replacement reasonable
* Besides once its repaired will the car function normally and will i be able to use for another two years / 30K miles

I also had the buubling on the DASH . Called Infiniti consumer affairs and lodged a case. They are willing to pay for the material and want me to shell out for the labor. The labor on that from what i last heard of is close to 6oo bucks .

Any suggestions from you experts on the forum is valuable and will help me with my situation

rajswetan
Car: FX35, 120K miles

Finally got my car back with 3.2 K bill. Radiator, waterpump, thermostat and gasket replacement. Car was running kind of rough . I took it to a Infiniti Master technician @Gwinnettperformance.com. He did another round of testing and certified the cooling issue . he also ran diagnostics and reset some engine setups to factory values and also changed a few of them. All of that for 95 bucks. The cars runs amazing now. Let me know if anyone has any specific questions

seldomseen
Car: '12 Altima Coupe 3.5 SR & '15 Lexus GS350 F Sport