another potential M45 owner with a couple questions

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
ACBarnett

I'm a student hardcore volvo driver who is in the market for a new daily driver car to last me for the next half dozen years or so. I have decided that it's going to be a midsize sport luxury car, and the 2003 M45 is one of the cars I'm considering.

Right now I'm shopping it against a the 01-03 540i 6-speed, the Jaguar XJR, the 2003 Passat W8, and potentially the 04 V70R 6-speed.

I like the lower price for what you get compared to the BMW, and I also like the VK45DE alot as an engine. A couple reservations I have are the lack of a manual transmission, the interior and the build quality of the leather and the plastics, etc, and the stock exterior looks. Right now the BMW seems like it has a nicer interior and transmission, but a weaker engine and a higher pricetag.

What I'm curious about is what there is available for the M45 in terms of performance upgrades. I have read that the transmission, especially the tiptronic setup seems to be set up with luxury and smoothness instead of performance in mind. A 340 horsepower car that weighs 3800 lbs should do 0-60 in ~5-5.5 seconds and run in the 13's, instead of what all the road tests said the m45 should do. Are there any available ECU and TCU upgrades for the M45 to get a few more horsepower and more importantly get the transmission to shift more aggressively and upshift closer to the redline.

That should do it for performance stuff, although I'm curious about what you m45 owners think of the handling, as well as what the availiability of replacement shocks, springs, and sways is.

As for looks stuff, I'm mostly curious about how hard it is to get ahold of nissan gloria bumpers and taillights, because I think they make a huge difference with the looks of the car.

Thanks in advance for any advice you might have...

-Alex

MattB
Car: 2001 Infiniti I30A