Ammo

Hiking, fishing, hunting, boating, biking, travel and recreation-related discussion forum
Dano
Car: '05 Nismo Frontier CC / '95 240sx base

Again, i'm a noob. Looking for what you experts recommend for both indoor range and home use. I'd also like to know about everything from steel jackets to hollow points to snap-caps. In the great words of # Johnny 5, "NEED INPUT!"

-Dan

Mr1der
Car: It's still not a Nissan...

snap caps are commonly used to describe the plastic spring loaded cartridges used to dry fire a gun to prevent added stress on the firing pin.

as far as jackets go...FMJ is good for basic target practice and CAN be used to defense but best if done as a last resort kinda thing.

Jacketed hollowpoints or JHP's are used for defensive or hunting purposes for the slight edge in energy upon impact and lessened potential for over penetration.

Total Metal Jackets (TMJ) aren't encountered often but are used to indoor ranges where ventilation is insufficient to filter all of the lead residue from the air that might build up.

Expanding Metal Jackets...a relatively new bullet design, blends the aspects of an snag free, easy loading FMJ with the ballistics of a JHP. looking at one of the bullets, you can usually see very fine cuts in the jacket to help the expansion.

Soft Points and Lead Wadcutters - these were the earliest designs of bullets due to the low temperature in which lead melts made it easy to mold as it was also soft enough to not damage rifling in early barrels. both still see use in period style competitions (think cowboy) or for cheap target rounds.

then we have Hardcast. Hardcaste are leadbullets that are harder than usual...I really don't know much about the process but they're a preferred load in big game hunting due to the higher penetration and heavy weight compared to more conventional types.

Dano

Explain a little more on snap caps, I guess i'm just ignorant, I've got it vaugely...

-Dan

Mr1der

http://www.pistoleer.com/azoom/