Alternator/Belt tensioner help?

General discussion forum for J30 and M30 owners!
95j30driver
Car: 1995 infiniti j30

On my newly acquired 1995 I am curious about the removal of my alternator. From the looks of things this has to be done from underneath the vehicle. Can anyone tell me what size bolts they are, how many, and how to adjust the tension on the belt. I'm completely new to this vehicle so any help would be deeply appreciated. Thanks

macgiver

mac , I got one,93 .Bolts are 12mm bracket lock, 10mm tension adj., 17mm swivel point (kind of hidden), and I believe have a 14mm on hand .It's best done from bottom , removing that 3' x 3' plastic under-baffle.Tip Brakleen wipe really well ALL the pulley grooves from ALL incidental pulleys -ESPECIALLY Alt. pulley - it's the smallest , and it tends to SLIP very easy SQUEALS(noticed upon starting) . But , this belt is routed on W/pump too and you DO NOT WANT w/pump tension too tight - not good for pump, not good for FRONT MAIN BEARING. It IS a "balancing act".I've always disconnected neg. battery post -of course,tightened up what I felt "medium tension" and then ONLY if slipping when initially starting car (warmed-up belt grabs better) I turn tension adjusting2-3 full turns , no more than 4,and that usually does it. I've put three Alt (Bosch OK) in my J over 20 years 195k-mi. :biggrin:Wait to put that stupid baffle in a few days , that you KNOW you're adjusted proper. :rotfl
Last edited by macgiver on Fri May 18, 2018 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

95j30driver
Car: 1995 infiniti j30

Thanks for the frightening (lol) yet helpful info!!!!

macgiver