99 altima 5spd shifting on its own

General discussion area for the L30-chassis Altima
Jrooga
Car: 1999 nissan altima 5 spd

Just recently bought a 99 altima 5spd and ocassionally it shifts from 1st to second on its own even when im not going fast enough to shift but close to it. There is no noise at all no grinding or nothing it just slides into 2nd and i dont know to much about transmissions. I did recently notice the tranny had a junkyard part number wrote on it and i kind of feel like the car was an automatic and changed to manual im saying that because when its in 2nd 4th and reverse the shifter lays really far back almost laying flat and when its in 1st 3rd and 5th it looks like its in neutral, and im pretty sure this is a tranny issue but the gears are really close together horizontally but far apart vertically or basically close side by side cause i always catch myself going from 2nd to 5th alot and i have been driving manual for over 10 yrs and never had that problem before. I also noticed i can hear the clutch spinning when its not in gear and not engaged and when i shift it kinda sounds like a little bit of a grind but not noticable unless your paying attention. Im hoping its something just wearing out and can be replaced cause i cant afford a new tranny let alone even know how to put one in. Any advice or input would be great and hopefully someone knows the issue i have been searching forums for a couple hours and the only things i found was tranny slipping into neutral and not other gears with a grinding noise and not going into another gear with no noise at all. And before i forget i was under the vehicle before and i noticed fluid leaking a slow slow leak kind of looked like motor oil but when i wiped it with my finger and smelled it i knew for sure it was coming out of the transmission but i cant find where either yet cause its dripping down and sliding down other parts so its kind of hard to pin point where it is leaking. Thank you to everyone with