95 Q45 Hard shifting into 2nd

Got questions about your Infiniti? We're here to help, and it's FREE!
Gingermanbread
Car: 1995 Infiniti Q45

Alright, I'm new to Nico! I followed the 'read before posting' guide, and I tried several different combos of search terms, and had no luck locating this, so I'll go ahead and ask.

I'm fairly new to working with cars, but I'm learning pretty quickly!
I have an automatic 1995 Infiniti Q45, and I bought it knowing of a few problems with it- water pump needed replacing, new serpentine belts, and there was a power steering leak that may require replacement of the rack & pinion within the next few months. I'm okay with all of that, and I'm working on it one piece at a time- I'm going to pop in the new belts and water pump tomorrow, actually, along with some new spark plugs. (Coincidentally, I saw a post during my search saying that Infinitis don't like Bosch spark plugs, is there any truth to that? I bought Bosch. :( )

However, when I drive it around lately, I've noticed that if I give it much gas after I take off, when it shifts into 2nd it shifts pretty hard. It's almost always noticeable, but it's worse sometimes than it is others.

I've discovered that I can replicate it by shifting it down to Neutral when stopped, Drive when I get ready to go, and then it'll do it again. When I don't give it much gas, it shifts more gently, and it didn't do this when I first got it.

It only does it when it shifts up the first time, but the lurch has been getting more violent lately, so I'm a little bit concerned. I had heard that it might just be the tranny mount, so I'm going to take a look at that, but I wanted to get a few more ideas from the community so that when I get under it, that won't be the only thing I look at.

If you need any more info to help me out on this, I'd be glad to oblige you! I definitely appreciate any insight you might be able to provide me with.. Thanks!

Q451990