'95 Pathfinder worth putting performance mods in?

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
C4TM4N
Car: 1995 Nissan Pathfinder

Hello,
This is my first time posting on here. I was wanting to know if the 1995 Pathfinder is worth sinking money into for performance upgrades. I love how the vg30e sounds and drives but it almost has 200k miles and hasn’t been taken care of very well over it’s life span so far. The previous owner doesn’t know when the transmission fluid was last changed and almost every fluid in the car excluding oil changes. So I would love some tips and suggestions for what kind of things should be replace first before upgrading and what the best first steps for making it into a performance car would be.
Last edited by Rogue One on Tue May 16, 2023 9:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: TYPO

MisterH
Car: 1999 Infiniti QX4

Welcome! My recommendation is to do some thorough diagnosis first on the overall condition of the vehicle before you even think about changing anything from factory. You could check the following:
1. What is the condition of engine? Compression check and examining spark plugs will tell you a lot. Have any oil leaks?
2. What's the condition of the transmission? Drain the fluid, remove the drain pain and look for excess debris - and how does it shift?
3. How do the brakes perform?
4. How stable and on-track is the steering and suspension?
5. How structurally sound is the frame? Get underneath with a flashlight and look for rust, cracks on frame rails, signs of previous repairs and then look for cracked and/or worn suspension bushings