91 D21 missing power to front left signal

Forum for the Xterra, Frontier and Hardbody, the smaller workhorses of the Nissan lineup!
ManzanoNissan
Car: 1991 Nissan D21 4x4

Just acquired my first $400 fixer upper a high desert '91 D21. I've got a front left signal, no power. Signal module indicates burnt bulb, but just replaced all lights and markers. Hazards report normal but signal marker won't light. Two seperate systems means the problem isn't from either on switch. Anyone know if this is the next place to check? Looks like a relay for the lights but I'm just guessing, I'm not a mechanic but I slept in a Holiday Inn a couple decades ago soooo....
https://imgur.com/a/MFiyBpg

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
Car: 2013 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

This isn't the greatest reproduction, but the only condition that explains the behavior is a broken wire between the blinker switch and the bulb that isn't broken between the hazard switch and the bulb. The WD doesn't tell you where in the harness the flagged junctions are, but the harness must be arranged in some topology that allows it to happen. Trace from the switch out to the bulb and your culprit should be in there somewhere. To prove it out quickly, run a long jumper from the GRY/BLU on the blinker switch to the GRY/BLU on the bulb, if it starts blinking then there's a bad wire between the two.

D21 Signals.jpg

whomadewho
Car: 1997 Nissan pickup

Disconnect the plug on the signal assembly, test for power in the harness — 2- try connecting a ground wire directly to the bulb socket 3- common feature is a bad connection at the light socket, the pins on the bulb are not properly lined up with the socket also recheck bulb number. 4. Open the fuse box there is a relay that powers the lights - not likely but a possibility being the rest of the lights work 5- Take a test light and check for power at the plug on the TURN SIGNAL flasher. Quick question do the hazard light work on the left signal?

VStar650CL