'89 240sx Hatch Project - IDK anything about cars (':

General discussion forum about the 240sx, and a great place to introduce yourself to the board!
xloligril
Car: '89 240sx Hatch

New to the forums, new to the car world. This is my first project car that I was fortunate enough to receive the title of when my friend moved to Italy. I'm sure there are several forum posts that contain all the information I need, but with my limited time to use a computer, it would be a great help if I was able to get feedback from the forums and or link drops. Thanks in advance! Anyways, about the car, currently deployed so I won't be able to provide any pictures BUT i'll do my best to explain what my initial concerns with it are. (Running a stock KA24E single cam)

Problem 1: Engine overheats. My friend said it had something to do with a leak coming from the lower intake manifold. There's a little L shaped pipe coming from Lower Manifold that's rusted out and leaks water. He said he'd have to stop every so often and put more water in the car. Just wanted a little positive reinforcement that that was the issue before I drop 300 dollars on an aftermarket Intake Manifold.

Problem 2: Transmission won't kick into 5th gear? Friend said he couldn't get the car into overdrive and hit 5th gear. It's an automatic transmission, btw, I've already had several of my friends back home tell me my best bet would just do 5 speed MT conversion, which is what i'm probably going to do. Just wanted to know the average cost of a full transmission swap would be? Minus the labor.

As of right now, problem 1 is the only thing preventing it from driving over 2 miles before having to stop and let the engine cool down. Problem 2 only becomes an issue really when I hit the expressways (currently stationed in San Diego, traffic slows me down to like 30mph average) Any assistance, links, feedback is greatly appreciated!

Hijacker
Car: '92 240sx Convertible
'94 F-150

welcome to NICO!