87 D21 VG30i AIV system or No?

Forum for the Xterra, Frontier and Hardbody, the smaller workhorses of the Nissan lineup!
Roddyrue
Car: 1987 Nissan Truck SE V6
4WD Extended Cab SB

First post! After reading a multitude of questions and great advice and help, I thought I should reach out and see if y’all can help. Mom in law passed away, literally leaving my hubby her D21 and saying docs couldn’t keep her going but my hubby could keep her ‘baby’ going. Imagine an 85 YO, with a cigarette hanging out of the side of her mouth, cruising around town in her manual, big tires D21. She LOVED her truck ! So, my hubby is on a mission to get the hardbody up and running again. Please bear with me- I’m not a mechanic, but can at least provide feedback and input to help get a better understanding.