73' 620 Brake adjustment question

1972-1979 Datsun 620 forums. All 620-specific topics and discussion can be found here.
fuelrags

Hey Guys,

I am a newbie 620 Owner and I am in the process of replacing my front brake equipment;hoses,shoes,springs,wheel cylinders,adjusters. What do you guys prefer for the proper adjustment of the front brakes? I took a guess and adjusted them enough to get one full turn of the drum,is that too tight or?...THX!,Martin       

IMH

On the drum-drum setups, which would be all of the Datsun pickups until 78, what I do is get all four adjusted as equally as possible to prevent pulling to one side or locking the front or rear first.   I'd back the adjustment you mentioned off a click or two and then make sure all drums, front and rear, are as even as possible.

mklotz70

You can also go to www.olddat.com ...the 620tech section and download the factory manual.  :)

fuelrags

Thanks Guys,you have been a great help:cool: heres a pic of my other toy....second place winner at the JCCS 2007 show.

fuelrags

OOPS!, One more newb question...I couldn't download the Service Manual quick enough,so do you guys bleed the brake system from each wheel or from the Master Cylinder?

LilDat
Car: Datsun NL 320, Datsun U320 (the runchwagon) 1972 Datsun 510 wagon

All of the above!

mklotz70

If there's a bleeder on the m/c, bench bleed the m/c first.  You can do it in the rig, but you have to disconnect the linkage.  The piston in the m/c must be bottomed out and it won't if you do it with the pedal.  You can use a long screwdriver or rod to push it with.  This is the single biggest mistake guys make when bleeding brakes....they only do it with the pedal...I know....I did it wrong for years and always had trouble bleeding brakes!