620zx LSA Build (FULL and in depth)

The Nissan 300ZX (Z32) general community discussion forum
620zx
Car: Supercharged 620zx

PICTURE HEAVY

Quick intro - I'm an Army vet with a lot of time on my hands. Started this hobby in late 2016 with a LS1 Genesis Coupe, then I dropped in a LS3, then supercharged it. Got bored, bought a beat 2004 GTO with LS1, swapped in a LS3, then supercharged it. Got bored, seen a 300zx for the first time ever in life and bought it the next day... 9 days later the engine was in! Follow my journey, ask questions etc etc... I pride myself on being an unorthodox builder! I do all my own work (except for painting etc, credit given where due), and I use bare minimum tools, making everything I do and document possible for those without knowledge or skills. All my build are documented in forums, YouTube, and Instagram - LS3_LaFlare is my IG and Youtube, check em out!. Anyway, lets get started... Here are my previous builds so I can't be called a liar lol:

And now.. I purchased a manual 1990 NA 300zx 2+0 and actually drove it about an hour home. Previous owner had it for over 20 years and was an older gentleman who couldn't really get in/out of it, nor could he wrench on it when need be, so fortunately for me it was unmolested, stock, and well taken care of for a damn near 30 year old car.

Was a blast to drive home! The weight difference from my 3800lb GTO was noticeable immediately, cockpit feel was amazing, shifting was butter smooth (I was used to driving stock and built T56s that are naturally super notchy), but braking left a bit to be desired. I knew this was going to be the perfect platform for a swap, and even better than my previous builds!

Got it home and, unlike previous builds, I decided to KEEP my drivetrain from the outgoing build and dump it into the new project. So I pulled the engine/trans out of the GTO and sold the GTO as a shell for 5k.