300zx Short Shifter 1st is difficult 2nd is gone

Nissan 300ZX technical discussion forum: Maintenance, performance, installations, modifications, how-to's and troubleshooting.
astewart62
Car: 1995 Nissan 300zx

Hey guys im very new to the Z community and this is my first car, i bought this short shifter, https://www.amazon.com/Ispeedytech-Niss ... fter&psc=1
I installed it exactly as i had seen on videos and etc. But when I went to go throught the gears, 1st is incredibly difficult to go into and 2nd seems to be missing. 3rd-5th and Reverse are perfect and shift into beautifully, any thoughts on the issue?

itsa300zx
Car: 1990 300zx NA W/TT swap
2011 Nissan Rouge S
2008 Highlander SR5

I have installed quite a few of those types of shifters for others and 95% of them have problems with either 1st/2nd or 5th/R. Chances are that even if they do go into gear with some effort, it may shorten the life of the synchro gears since a slight pressure remains on them. (ie like constantly applying pressure on the shifter while in gear).
They all have gone to a modified stock short shifter instead. Seems like the pivot point on those assemblies limits the side movement of the shifter. Sorry I never bothered to figure out where the shifters are limiting the movements and just asked the customers to return them.

astewart62
Car: 1995 Nissan 300zx

itsa300zx wrote:
Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:48 am
I have installed quite a few of those types of shifters for others and 95% of them have problems with either 1st/2nd or 5th/R. Chances are that even if they do go into gear with some effort, it may shorten the life of the synchro gears since a slight pressure remains on them. (ie like constantly applying pressure on the shifter while in gear).