280ZX Driveshaft Issues

A forum for owners of S30 and S130 Datsun Z's... 240Z, 260Z, 280Z and 280ZX!
jwall54
Car: 1982 Datsun 280ZXT 2+2

Hey guys i just got myself a 1982 280zxt 2+2, and having a little bit of an issue. I am removing the Borg and Warner T5 transmission, to replace the clutch, and having an issue removing the driveshaft. The bolts are very rusted and have tried using PB buster and also heating them, but nothing is working, I was wondering if anyone had any tips on removing this. I am new to Datsun but not new to turning a wrench. Any ideas would be appreciated, Thanks

centralcoaster33
Car: 240SX #5-1997

The bolts to the diff can be frustrating. Keep up with the penetrating oil soakings regularly. Consider using a wire wheel to brush off any excess rust (to avoid rounding the nut off). Be sure to use a hex socket, not a 12 point (to avoid rounding the nut off). Put the tranny in gear and the e-brake on tight to keep it from spinning. Use a breaker bar with the hex socket and torque on it to pull out all the slack in the driveshaft (I mean, it always seems to turn a few degrees even in gear and with the e-brake on) when you can't move it anymore, use a hammer to hit the breaker bar with a sharp blow. I hope that explanation makes sense. Anyway, this should help in breaking them free without rounding them off. Another way to hold the shaft from spinning is to put another wrench and socket on another nut and you pull that one on tighter while using the breaker bar to loosen the one your working at.

Don't give up because one won't come off. Work on one at a time and be sure to move on to the other three even if you don't break free the first one. Each time you'll get a little closer to having them all off.