280z swap question

A home for 1983–1989 300ZX owners!
tcz
Car: 02 wrx

sup guys. i had a quick question..and yes i tried the search and got a few things but didnt see what i wanted.

how hard is it to fit a rb motor in a datsun 280zx? rb25det or rb26dett. i know the rb26 is hella expensive but idk if it would be worth the extra money?

and if i were to get a shop to do the swap for me, what u think they would charge? im not a mechanic and i have just about 0 time to learn to become one so i would most likely get someone to do this for me unless i do it over a few months.

thanks guys.

PS i will also look at hybridz.org

nismo 03
Car: Nissan 240sx

its been done before from what i know.

Hope i get this

The RB engine is a 2.0L to 3.0L straight-6 piston engine made by Nissan.

It has an aluminum head with both SOHC/DOHC versions, with the SOHC versions having 2 valves per cylinder and the DOHC versions having 4 valves per cylinder, all cam lobes move only one valve. All RB engines have belt driven cams and a cast iron block. All turbo models have an intercooled turbo (except the single cam RB20ET & RB30ET engines), and most have a recirculating factory blow off valve (except when fitted to Laurels and Cefiros) to reduce boost surge when the throttle is closed.

Ok the rb 25 and 26 can fit. How ever since the rb26dett from the Nissan Skyline GTR r32/r33/ & r34 are AWD you will have to use the sr20de or det tranny, some new motor mounts, electric fan, custom exhaust, wire harness, ECU, custom intake pipes for the inter cooler and a few more things

have fun o and the rb26 is better and ur looking at 5000 plus i think

evildky
Car: 71 240ZT, 87 300ZXN/A-T, 06 350Z GT, Tundra TRD RW