240sx melted clutch to flywheel? Need help asap

ONLY for ADVANCED technical discussion about the 240sx!
diccboi
Car: 240sx s13 hatch

Hey guys. So I just bought this s13 hatch a couple days ago and am fairly new to driving manual. I got the hang of it by the end of the day and can do it no problem now. But this morning I was backing into my friends garage and was riding the clutch pretty hard. I stepped out the car and it smelt like burnt popcorn everywhere. An hour later I start up the car to leave for home and the clutch pedal does nothing. The car will go into gear when the engines off obviously. But I cannot put it into gear when running. I tried starting it in gear with the clutch in but it just lurches forward. It starts in neutral perfectly but I cannot get it in gear. I've been told it could be the master cylinder or slave cylinder but I'm doubting that because the pedal feels exactly the same. I'm not an expert at all so idk. I'm assuming I melted my clutch onto my flywheel but I'm not 100% sure. If you guys could help me figure out the problem and how I could fix it that would be great thanks.

ca18det_boy

Do you see any leaks on the inside of the firewall next to the clutch pedal, around the master cylinder, or the slave cylinder? Have someone press on the clutch pedal while you're under the car and look at the slave to make sure that it's actually moving as it should. It sounds like you're getting ready to learn how to do a clutch job on it. If all those things look fine, it's time to pull off the transmission and do an inspection/replacement of the clutch.

PapaSmurf2k3
Site Admin
Car: 2017 Corvette, 2018 Focus ST, 1993 240sx truck KA Turbo.

ca18det_boy wrote:
Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:07 am
Have someone press on the clutch pedal while you're under the car and look at the slave to make sure that it's actually moving as it should.
I was going to mention the same thing.