2008 M35 Power Steering Leak

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
mnathan
Car: Infiniti 2008 M35

Hello, I recently had an alternator fire and im replacing a connector which i mentioned in a previous post. I think I've got an handle on the whole alternator issue but the root of that failure was a power steering leak, and I'd like to learn more and fix it myself. Currently fluid is leaking from some kind of apparatus that protrudes from the pump itself. I will include photos and an excellent MS paint diagram. I have no experience or knowledge of this system of my car or how to use hose clamps etc. Im certain of where the leak is but not which part has failed or how to repair it. :inoutgay:
Attachments
power3.png
PUMP1.jpg
This is the under side view, pointing at the connector bolt combo

EdBwoy

The object you're pointing at is the power steering pressure sensor switch.

Now, I'm not familiar with the V6 layout, but the unidentified bolt would likely be a banjo bolt. You can read more about banjo bolts (they have holes drilled in them), but essentially they do a double duty of fastening as well as allowing fluid to flow to a different part of the system (for example the hardline).

The leak is either due to the "L" housing cracking, or the copper washers that seal the flat surfaces being compromised - both rather unlikely. Not impossible though.

PS. The pictures definitely help. All the best as you jump into this world of discovery.

mnathan

EdBwoy wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:59 pm
The object you're pointing at is the power steering pressure sensor switch.

Now, I'm not familiar with the V6 layout, but the unidentified bolt would likely be a banjo bolt. You can read more about banjo bolts (they have holes drilled in them), but essentially they do a double duty of fastening as well as allowing fluid to flow to a different part of the system (for example the hardline).