2006 was totaled, in the Market for A New Altima. Seeking Advice Pre-purchase.

A General Discussion forum for Altima owners, and a great place to introduce yourself if you are new to the NICOclub Altima Forums!
altima2025

Hi All,

Brand New to the forums. First post. I like the site and it's wealth of information.

I owned a 2006 Nissan Altima S. It was a great car as far as reliability. No major repairs that I can remember. Unfortunately, it was totaled when someone hit me. I haven't recovered from the injuries, as the car was spun around in the opposite direction into the median :frown: :/.

*So, I am in the market for a Used car. Based on the reliability and good MPG I got from that 2006 Altima, I am strongly considering going with a later model. I am a college student and work PT retail, so I have some limitations. Ideally I am looking for something no earlier than a 2012 model with definitely less than 80k miles, clean title and good condition.

I have been searching for weeks, as well as parents have been looking around.

Base on you guys wealth of experience, is there any year models I should avoid, or any that are great.

Looking for:
-Reliability
-Well maintained
-Safe
-Good MPG
-Non-Smoking car
-Depending on price and features, a decent stereo with backup camera.

Some things I was reading about were the new Transmissions, I have read about the brake, hood latch, etc recalls. Anyone experience those.

All that said. Do you guys have any advice on purchasing a used vehicle, whether the VPP is worth it?, things to watch for, and the Good/not so good year models between 2011-2016?

Thank You in advance!!!

telcoman
Car: Tesla 2022 Model Y, 2016 Q70 Bye 2012 G37S 6 MT w Nav 94444 mi bye 2006 Infiniti G35 Sedan 6 MT @171796 mi.