2004 4x4 R50 engine swap options?

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
mattardo
Car: 2004 Nissan Pathfinder SE 4x4

I have a 2004 SE Pathfinder 4x4 I'm anticipating my engine failing at some point. It still runs great at over 266k miles. All the seals have been replaced. No oil leaks either but it does burn a lot of it! I know the motor won't last forever and I plan on keeping the truck for a long time. With that being said, is a direct VQ35DE swap of the same year my only option or can I use the newer VQ35HR engine or some other modified VQ option to increase HP and/or fuel economy when I eventually do the swap? Also where would you recommend getting a new/used VQ engine from for someone living in southern california? Would love to hear your expert advice! Thanks in advance

mdmellott
Car: '13 Kia Soul+ 2.0L AT
'02 Pathfinder SE 3.5L AT P/4WD

I'm an amateur with this subject matter but I think swapping engines for a different type will be much more costly and difficult than staying with the same engine. ECM, TCM, and numerous wiring changes would be involved if switching engine types. I love the thought of this challenge though, like the amateur I am. As in, amateur from the French and Italian word amatore which comes from the Latin word amator which means lover. :blush:

I am not an expert but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. ;)

Hawairish
Car: 2004 Nissan Pathfinder SE 4WD