2004-2006 Quests: Those terrible radios

A forum for the Nissan Quest... minivan lovers unite!
Quest2004
Car: 2004 Nissan Quest SE

I'm not one to intentionally exaggerate too much on something, but I think these may be the worst radios I've ever seen in my life (and I go back to the 70's). I can only refer to the six CD changer variety as I have no experience with the single-CD units.

My Quest is on at least it's fourth - if not fifth - radio. I'm trying to figure out exactly why they are so lousy. It's not the BOSE amp or the speakers - that stuff has no issues (I don't see any references online to that part of it anywhere either). Obviously, this is a once-off design where they got creative and separated the controls from the head unit - I think they got too cute for their own good. Orrrr...they rushed the design into production without fully testing the radios (I'd guess the latter as 2004's were the first year design Quests made in the Mississippi plant where Nissan teams from Japan had to come in and fix the mess).

In speaking with the repair guys, here's what they said:

1. The internal mechanisms that handle the CD's were cheap and had a miserable failure rate. This contributed to the "eat my CD" issues and "can't eject" issues. I've had three of them do this.
2. They - as do I - wonder if there isn't a slight "software" issue here as well. I now have the issue - on a freshly repaired unit - where I have had to unplug the battery (twice already) to stop the unit from doing the "beep three times" thing whenever I try to use the CD player. When it does this, I hit the "CD" button and it beeps three times. I hit the eject and load buttons - same thing. I pull the battery and wait 5 min and plug it in..all OK. I'm trying to recreate this and document it. So far, I can't tie it to a particular sequence.