2001 Altima No Start

General discussion area for the L30-chassis Altima
jiffyp20
Car: 1990 Nissan Hardbody

Hi everyone. Sorry for such a long post but I'm a noob and I really appreciate any advice.
My friends car stalled while driving around 50mph and won't start again. She stated there was no noise, sputtering or anything it was just like someone turned off the ignition. Was just down the street from her house so she just had it towed there. Only thing recent she said it was shifting hard.

Engine turns over, then it's like something stops it for a moment, clicks everything turns off then it comes back.
Sometimes it will seem to "fire" and the car shakes a little bit but then nothing.
Checked air filter, plugs, wires, rotor, cap. Getting spark on all.
Removed valve cover, everything looks ok. From what I can tell timing marks look correct, both cams turning.
Compression in all cylinders 160psi ish
Fuel pump working, fuel filter not clogged. Also could smell a little gas on plugs so I THINK the injectors are ok.

Scan shows P0740. (TCC I think) It wont erase.
Checked transmission fluid(hard to do with car not running but still virtually none on dipstick)
Electrical buzzing coming from transmission pan when key in 'on' position.

Checked the oil too, way below L mark. Looked like it had a quart...maybe. Not Good. Not watery or anything though.
Filled with oil. Cranked a few times. Then changed oil and filter.

My thoughts were
jumped timing from lack of oil
spun bearings or something
TCC locked and wont allow the car to start even in park or neutral?
Possibly Idle air control?

I thought about just getting it to a mechanic for her but she has a baby on the way so money is an issue. I would like to be able to at least diagnose the problem. Once again, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jeff

wade001
Car: 2009 Altima coupe 2.5s mt

so there was virtually no tranny fluid? or engine fluid?