2000 QX4 cranks over but wont start...

Got questions about your Infiniti? We're here to help, and it's FREE!
ugharin
Car: 2000 QX4; 2002 QX4

The other day, my 2000 QX4 quit while driving at around 45mph. Since then its been turning over or cranking but it will not start. I am at a loss as to what the problem could be. Not that I am an expert, which why I am here. Would appreciate any help with this problem. Its been many days and I need it running quick for work for dw.

Some info:
2000 QX4 with 129k miles. Had the dealers put on a timing belt before I bought it in nov last year. It had been running great till this happened.

I changed the fuel filter yesterday is all I did. And the old one was actually quite clean. I can also hear the fuel pump in the tank ....not sure if there is enough pressure in the lines however. I am not particularly savvy with electrical stuff so not sure how to troubleshoot ignition/ spark issues or any other issues. Would appreciate any help from you experts here.

I also, plugged in my cheap scanner but it returned 0 codes. A crude test also reveals compression in the #1 cylinder. The rotor turns as well during cranking. So I am guessing that its not the timing belt. Dont know how to proceed from here now.

1) Could it be the crank position sensor?
2) Ignition module?? Where is it?
3) Distributor cap, rotor, coil, other?
4) Timing is off?
5) Fuel pump, relay, other?

How do I check/test the above or any other possible issues.

Thanks for your help in advance.

qship96
Car: 1996 Q45

Time to take it to a professional............

Q45tech
Car: 1990 Q45 342,400 miles 22 years ownership with original engine
1995 G20t 5 speed 334,000 miles 16" 2002 wheels - 205/50/16 Sr20ve vvl

Or take even more time to download FSM *pdf then read and study thousand of pages. Then buy test equipment and tools to carry out detailed diagnostic proceedure in FSM.