2 Car Radios??

A Q45 forum / Cima forum for the President of Infiniti's lineup. Brought to you by Infiniti Parts USA, your OEM source for Q45 parts!
enternet987
Car: 2005 Infiniti Q45

Hello Everyone,

31 days ago I made one of the best decisions of my life by buying a 2005 INFINITI (drives me nuts when people don't spell INFINITI with all caps :chuckle: ) . Out of every aspect and feature on this car, there is only one that I don't love; there is no aux port.

In the past, I have always used a cassette tape adapter to plug my phone into the radio and enjoy my music. FM Transmitters have provide terrible sound quality, and the cassette is much better. However, when I play a CD instead of music from my phone, the quality is substantially better. I sell cars for a living, and I have yet to hear a factory sound system that sounds as incredible as the 8 speaker Bose system that is currently in my car. It is so great that it kills me inside to know that I am not achieving max sound quality through music on my phone.

A buddy of mine gave me some advice, and I wanted to see what everyone else thinks, and even better, if anyone has done it themselves.

His advice was to replace the 6 CD changer with an aftermarket radio. I do not want to rip out the nav system already in the car, so my hope is that by installing an aftermarket radio to work simultaneously with the factory radio, I can acquire a direct aux input to the speakers to ultimately achieve maximum quality of the sound system with music from my phone. The aftermarket radio would only be used for the AUX, while all other functions would still be used by factory radio.

This seems like a highly complex and almost impossible procedure, and I have a general understanding to the field of aftermarket radios and installation, but I'm failing to see how this could possibly work.

What does everyone else think?

Tristan L.
Kansas City, MO

Q451990