1985' 720 Nissan Pickup "I'm just a beginner

1980-1986 Datsun 720 forums. All 720-specific topics and discussion can be found here.
Spontaneousrican
Car: 1985 Nissan Pickup 2wd 4 cyl 5 spd. standard bed

I have to ask, I have a 1985 nissan pickup 2wd 5spd standard bed, and most of the things around the carburetor were taken out, I had bought it like that. I'm having a few problems with it, after I installed new brakes and brake lines, the few seconds after I brake and start going slow, because I'm missing the connection from the air-filter, I'm missing that one piece that connects it to the grill, the truck shuts off, as if it's not getting enough air or the right amount of air. The truck has been modified a little from what it used to be, but all the original parts are on there minus the parts around the carburetor, and the carburetor is original also.http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/8465/0000019k.jpg

http://img163.imageshack.us/sl...a.jpg

just the other day I was driving it and it takes a long time to warm up, but when finally it was drivable, I drove it not long and it cut off( it was sputtering a lot) Is there anything any of you guys could advise me on what to get?also the timing is off, in that when I bought it the rev was high, and everytime I shut if off just about, more often than not it refuses to shut off, among other things this truck makes a loud popping sound like a gun going off, and I'm not sure what to go about fixing it. any advise?

Modified by Spontaneousrican at 12:29 PM 12/21/2009

Modified by Spontaneousrican at 12:47 PM 12/21/2009

Modified by Spontaneousrican at 12:48 PM 12/21/2009
Modified by Spontaneousrican at 12:48 PM 12/21/2009

PEZi
Car: Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX Mitsubishi Racing Edition

it sounds like you have some carb issues... but they don't really have anything to do with what is removed from what you are describing