1984 720 Pickup Z24 Oil Filter *Total Confusion**

1980-1986 Datsun 720 forums. All 720-specific topics and discussion can be found here.
whawker
Car: 1984 Nissan 720 Pickup z24 engine

Hi all, I'm a noob to this site, happy to join up! I've got a weird question that shouldn't happen...

So I just bought a Sunrader RV, it's on a 1984 Nissan/Datsun 720 pickup dually cab and chassis with the Z24 carbureted engine. A great running engine and vehicle, love it so far! I went today to change the oil and filter for the first time, and strange stuff happened. Went to my local Autozone, then to O'Reilly's, then to the RockAuto website, no matter where I go you see what looks like a bunch of inconsistent filters specified, and they don't look like they're interchangeable, and for the most part don't look like they even fit. All these places specify a Fram PH8A, or various brand versions of it, which is a big fat filter, they're all about 5" tall and nearly 4" (3.66") in diameter. But they also specify a Fram PH3682 and a bunch of other brand versions of that filter, which is just under 3" diameter and 4" tall. There's like choices of six or eight filters by brand in each of these two basic sizes. Dang, that PH8A fits my F-150 engine if I remember correctly!

The filter that's currently on the engine is the small size, looks like 3" diameter and 4" tall, a Carquest, can't see the number on it. However, the shape of the engine block where the filter screws on looks too small for a 4" diameter filter, so I'm also doubting the PH8A for that reason. I have a separate problem, the current filter is on so tight and hard to reach it looks like I'm gonna have to take out the alternator to make space for a filter wrench that won't crush the thing on the engine.