1 Full Week with my QX56 - Quick Review

A forum for the Nissan Armada, Infiniti QX56, and beginning in 2014, the Infiniti QX80
BirdOPrey5

First let me say overall I am very happy with the QX-56 as a whole, it is much more comfortable then my previous ride (2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee) and more comfortable still then the '04 avalanche which is the other truck I have of comparable size.

Also let me say I am still learning how to use the systems (Nav, bluetooth, etc...) but have made great strides so far.

My concerns so far-

The audio/sound quality... Playing the same MP3 files an AUX input on my old Jeep (which had the "Infinity premium sound" (no relation) system) vs. playing it directly from the compact flash card on the Infiniti radio - the music doesn't sound as good. It's not bad, but I fully expected to have a better quality sound from the Infiniti then the Jeep- but it's marginally worse in my opinion, and the Bass is noticeably lacking- to the point I'll probably need to get a sub-woofer installed somewhere- and I'm not one of those people that like loud radios- I mostly listen to Sinatra and such.

Sticking with this radio, the fact that compact flash reader can only read the first 512 files on the CF card is kind of a downer too- I hope this may be fixed one day with a firmware upgrade...

I haven't tried playing the mp3 off a CD to see if the sound quality is better but I doubt it will be.

The nav system- much better then nothing - but the portable Garmin Nuvi I was using in the Jeep gave better routes to get to places, better spoken directions on when/how to turn, and it gave better info, like ETA instead of time remaining. Also, and hopefully this is something I can change (haven't read the nav system manual yet) it gives too much useless info... When I have a route in I only want to see the turns I have to make, not a bunch of useless exits that I'm not going to take anyway.