04 Quest 3.5 SE Help!!

A forum for the Nissan Quest... minivan lovers unite!
Mattwhite503
Car: 2004 Nissan Quest SE

I'm hoping that somebody here can help me out with some info as to what I'm dealing with. I am relatively new to Nissans. My newly acquired Quest has some issues of the electrical variety. The speedometer, Tachometer, fuel level, temp level, everything that is contained within the whole left side of the radio in the instrument cluster is dead. I've tested the electrical and ground connections at the cluster and it's getting around 12v and a good ground. So I initially assumed that the board for the cluster was bad. But I'm also experiencing other issues. No interior lights, the AC isn't turning on (can't hear AC clutch engage) readout on right side of gauge cluster doesn't indicate and Check Engine Lights, however having just scanned the ECU I see 13 codes.

Does this sound at all like a known problem or has anybody seen this before? I've been looking for about the last hour online and can't find another person who has the same issues as mine does. Any help is appreciated!!

Mattwhite503

Some additional info on this. I neglected to mention in my previous post that it would appear the air bag system is having issues as well. The airbag light is flashing on the indicator on the right side of the gauge cluster.

Could my issues simply be a bad Unified Meter control unit? My ECU is reading codes for the sensors that read vehicle speed, temperature and fuel level, which is all the gauges affected, minus RPM, which there was no code for but still doesn't function. Does anybody know if the cluster reads values directly from the sensors, or does it get it's info from the ECU?

far raf
Car: 2005 Nissan Quest SE (standard? simple? edition - i.e. nothing special)

As this is 04, there is high degree of likelihood that your ECU housing has through corrosion and the mainboard is affected. Start by checking that.
And list the codes you are getting.

Mattwhite503