02 Maxima in-dash navigation?

The club for Nissan Maxima and Infiniti I30 / I35 owners, and the official home of Maxima Club of America!
User avatar
ZGadson
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:58 pm
Contact:

02 Maxima in-dash navigation?

Postby ZGadson » Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:45 am

What do ya'll know about this?



User avatar
D_roc
Posts: 585
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:18 pm
Car: 2001 Maxima 20th aniv edition

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation? (ZGadson)

Postby D_roc » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:07 am

well all i know is that its damn hard to find a maxima with a nav and even harder to find a used nav system

Fezzik
Posts: 1001
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 6:24 pm
Car: 2010 G37 Vert w/ stage 1 GTM supercharger

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation? (D_roc)

Postby Fezzik » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:28 pm

I actually researched doing this for my car. It is too much of a hassle to do but it can be done. You will have to buy the unit, buy wiring for the unit, the GPS reciever. I know of only one person who has done it succesfully and that was a long time ago. I cant even remember the name. I almost did it cause i found the whole navigations system on ebay for pretty cheap. The nav system is alright but it is an older system. I'd much rather go with a Double DIN GPS unit that is aftermarket.

User avatar
ZGadson
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation? (Fezzik)

Postby ZGadson » Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:28 am

My whole intention of looking for Nissan parts is to keep the stock look of the car, and because I think the whole pop-up navigation that's available for I35s is just plain sexy.

As a very last resort, I'd go with the Pioneer AVIC-D3 unit for the dash. I've heard only good things about, it and I love that the backlighting colors in the buttons themselves can be changed to match the car's own button lighting.



Here's a YouTube video that shows the features of it...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_w3UZIEo8k

(If I do end up with the Poineer system, I can still add the pop up screen, too. The Pioneer unit has output for a second screen. I could have navigation on the pop-up and stereo/mp3 player controls on the Pioneer unit. That would just be nifty.)

User avatar
ZGadson
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation? (ZGadson)

Postby ZGadson » Wed Feb 06, 2008 8:21 am

Bump.

I got a quote from a salvage yard in New York for an entire navigation system (wires, antennas, screen, dvd, ect) for $700 from an 01 I30. Is this a good deal? Although the Pioneer nav system (for $1000) does so much more than the stock nav, Im still on the line of which way to go. (On the other hand, I can always take the Pioneer system with me when I get a new car)

The guy at the salvage yard said that the I30 got totaled with only 26 miles on the odometer. Apparently the car fell off the top of a semi when it was in transit to a dealer.

oilerftbll84
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:58 am
Car: 2002 Maxima
Contact:

Postby oilerftbll84 » Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:50 pm

Not bad. dang leather looks so much better. i knew i made a mistake lol

User avatar
D_roc
Posts: 585
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:18 pm
Car: 2001 Maxima 20th aniv edition

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation? (ZGadson)

Postby D_roc » Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:42 pm

i'd go with the pioneer. the maps on the 6th gem maximas suck big time so i can imagine how the maps on a 01 would be and i think you have to keep changing the map CD on that system . if you buy a D3 you get to watch DVD and the maps are 3d(i think). go to http://www.onlinecarstereo.com they have a d3 for $679. But you decide what you want it's your car and your money. i was like you too when i first got my max wanted to keep the stock look but i thought F it the car aint gonna last for ever good luck

User avatar
ZGadson
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation? (D_roc)

Postby ZGadson » Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:48 am

Thanks for the input - never thought about the maps sucking...

AVIC-D3 it is! (And maybe still the pop-up screen, just because its sexy...)

JVeliz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:20 pm

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation? (D_roc)

Postby JVeliz » Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:35 am

hey D_roc did you have any problems installing the nav system in your maxima because i want to install one in my 02 but wasn't sure if the 6.1 inch would fit?

Torgus
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 1:01 pm
Car: Nissan Maxima
Contact:

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation? (ZGadson)

Postby Torgus » Wed Feb 25, 2009 1:03 pm

get an eclipse AVN. They are bad a** especially the newest model. I love mine. oh and any aftermarket gps unit is 10x better then on ethat comes stock in a car. for some reason they always SUCK. like my AVN is better then my fathers 08 335i's nav.

/thread
ZGadson wrote:What do ya'll know about this?

antonioevans12
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 2:43 pm
Car: 2002 Maxima

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation?

Postby antonioevans12 » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:08 pm

Hey everyone, I'm new here and don't know if this will even reach anyone. I have a 2002 Maxima with stock navigation. I want to remove the navigation and replace it with a double DIN aftermarket radio. The only issue I'm having is that the climate controls are a part of the navigation unit. Has anyone found a fix to this or is it still impossible?
Last edited by Rogue One on Mon Jun 08, 2020 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Duplicate Post Deleted

User avatar
Rogue One
Moderator
Posts: 8237
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:15 pm
Car: 2011 Nissan Rogue SL
2012 Nissan Rogue SL
2012 Honda CR-V LX
Location: Florida, USA

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation?

Postby Rogue One » Mon Jun 08, 2020 5:47 pm

antonioevans12 wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:08 pm
Hey everyone, I'm new here and don't know if this will even reach anyone. I have a 2002 Maxima with stock navigation. I want to remove the navigation and replace it with a double DIN aftermarket radio. The only issue I'm having is that the climate controls are a part of the navigation unit. Has anyone found a fix to this or is it still impossible?
:welcome:
Does your car have the automatic climate controls? If so, I believe what you have to do is down grade the controls, using those found in the base model.

antonioevans12
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 2:43 pm
Car: 2002 Maxima

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation?

Postby antonioevans12 » Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:33 am

Wow, i didnt believe i would get a reply so fast. I see you guys take your maximas seriously as well as myself. Also what do you mean by auto climate control. Im gonna drop a pic or two so you can see exactly what im talking about. Bro this setup is so annoying, it has the climate controls intergrated into the navigation unit. Have you ever seen this before?
Unit.jpg
Whole setup.jpg
Whole setup.jpg (45.22 KiB) Viewed 835 times

User avatar
Rogue One
Moderator
Posts: 8237
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:15 pm
Car: 2011 Nissan Rogue SL
2012 Nissan Rogue SL
2012 Honda CR-V LX
Location: Florida, USA

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation?

Postby Rogue One » Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:55 pm

Sorry, I'm not that familiar with your model. I thought you center console looked like this:
s-l500.jpg
s-l500.jpg (24.06 KiB) Viewed 811 times
Auto climate control. You set a specified temperature, say 72 degrees, and the system will automatically switch between heat and AC to maintain that temperature. Going by your picture, your climate control is manual.

Anyway, I'm having a little trouble verifying the details, but I think the climate controls are built into the bezel (the part surrounding the screen), but not connected to the head unit (HU for short). Don't hold me to this, but it looks like the HU is mounted behind the display screen, which in turn is mounted to the bezel with a couple of brackets.

What does that mean? Well, IF I'm correct it means the HU and screen can be removed, and you'll still have climate control. The problem that you then have is that you will need to find an aftermarket HU that fits that bezel opening.
s-l1600.jpg
s-l16002.jpg

antonioevans12
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 2:43 pm
Car: 2002 Maxima

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation?

Postby antonioevans12 » Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:15 pm

Nah. I had a maxima like that, transmission went out. But if that’s what you meant, it’s auto. It’s the first button on the right at the top. And secondly, sadly the climate controls are integrated into the unit. If you pull it out and look at the back they are all on one harness.

User avatar
Rogue One
Moderator
Posts: 8237
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:15 pm
Car: 2011 Nissan Rogue SL
2012 Nissan Rogue SL
2012 Honda CR-V LX
Location: Florida, USA

Re: 02 Maxima in-dash navigation?

Postby Rogue One » Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:36 pm

Well if the wiring is integrated, then it looks like you're sol.


Return to “Maxima Forum & I30 / I35 Forum”