help me prepare for door swap

The Internet's ONLY forum for 240sx convertible information and the official home of the 240sx Convertible Club of America!
Eikon
Car: 71 240z, 93 Supra TT

hey guys,

I have been looking forward to doing this for a while. I am thinking I will tackle it soon. I have acquired coupe doors and panels that I want to swap onto my convertible.

I am a novice mechanic, so I need to be careful to prepare ahead of time for projects like this. My fear is doing something that I can't undo, and ruining parts and costing extra money..

So, can you guys help me get set for this please?!

This shouldn't be real complex.. just unbolting one door and bolting on the new one... But there are two areas that I need to prep for.

1.) Wiring for pwr windows, locks.. The vert has power and so do the new doors that i picked up. I would really like to keep the power feature as it's expected with convertibles. Is there a way that I can unwire the 'vert door and rewire the new doors without having to cut and solder the wiring. Is the harness able to be pulled out and removed from the door, or does it have to be cut. I don't have a lot of experience soldering, so i am really hoping that i won't have to do that.

2.) Seat belts. What's the conscensus on the best way to redo seat belts? Greg- obviously I have read through your write-up a couple hundred times, so I am pretty familiar with how you did that. After having done it, do you recommend it the same way? Is there something you would change? You are pretty tall... how do the belt fit over and across your shoulder? Do they feel comfortable?

Is there anything that I am missing? I mean this seams relatively simple, but it's still a big project, so I want to make sure I don't screw it up.

Thanks a ton guys!!!

Eikon

Hijacker
Car: '92 240sx Convertible
'94 F-150