swap my 3 speed 2003 Auto for 4 speed auto.

The club for Nissan Maxima and Infiniti I30 / I35 owners, and the official home of Maxima Club of America!
Gerry_007
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2021 8:49 pm
Car: 2003 Nissan Maxima SE-R V6

swap my 3 speed 2003 Auto for 4 speed auto.

Postby Gerry_007 » Sun Aug 15, 2021 9:20 pm

Hi I have a Nissan Maxima 2003 ST-R 3.0 V6 (A33). (Australia) with a 3 speed auto (+ overdrive)
I need some info from anyone that can help as I need to replace the Automatic gearbox, other than an exact model match, I am not sure exactly what other models of Automatic Gearbox will fit my engine, Can anyone help with this my Vin number is JN1CCUA33A0110046 ....ENGINE VQ30(DE) 2988 ...., I have found locally a 2004 J31 4 speed Auto(stamped number on the side = "4129A-003") Gearbox for sale and am wondering if its possible to use this as a direct replacement.
The seller states it came out of a 2004 (02/02-12/05) 3.5ltr Vin JN1BBUJ31A0002888, anyone who can through some light on it I'd be greaful as I am confused as it is listed as a 4 speed where as my auto is a 3 speed ( 123DRP + overdrive on 3 & 4 gear) if anyone knows if this is possible to do a straight swap, if so what else might I need to do to get it on the road ie change Bellhousing / shaft / On Board Computer update or ?? thanks for reading. can supply pictures if that helps


Gerry_007
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2021 8:49 pm
Car: 2003 Nissan Maxima SE-R V6

Re: swap my 3 speed 2003 Auto for 4 speed auto.

Postby Gerry_007 » Thu Aug 26, 2021 8:44 pm

Is there no one in this forum that has information..?

Gerry_007
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2021 8:49 pm
Car: 2003 Nissan Maxima SE-R V6

Re: swap my 3 speed 2003 Auto for 4 speed auto.

Postby Gerry_007 » Thu Sep 02, 2021 12:46 am

Ok, let have one last attempt at explaining :
I need to replace the worn out tranmission, but I am not sure exactly what other types of transmission will fit an VQ30DE, TRAN AXLE  = RE404B FN37, Locally I found a 4speed auto gearbox that came from a VQ35DE, its possible to use this as a direct replacement.
If this is possible, what else might I need to do to get it up and running ... ie re-wire Valve bodies.   


Return to “Maxima Forum & I30 / I35 Forum”