Spring rates

All over the world, Nissan products are involved in road racing, track days, time attack and autocross.
michael h
Car: 96 240sx s14

Ok I'm new to the s14 and so I would like to get some advice on what spring rates to run on the front and rear. I have three years of auto x experiance I drive a civic hatch with a gsr swap in smf. On my civic I run 450lb up front and 550lb rear and it does quite well I place 2nd in my region (atlanta).
My s14 is stock motor wise and plan to keep it like that till I get suspension the way I'd like it to feel. As far as the suspension I have just replaced the rear subframe bushings with solid rubber and have a set of koni yellows that I will install once I get the springs. I plan on getting the Ground control coil over set up and this is where my question is what spring rate do I get. I've seen on several posts that people with 240's put a heavier spring rate up front and a lesser rate in the rear. Why? any and all suggetions are welcome .

flohtingPoint
Car: 2004 Z16 Corvette Z06

On my 86, I run 700 lbs in front and 600 lbs in the rear. I also dont run a sway bar in front. To run a spring rate above 600, you'll need to have your koni's revalved (which I'd recommend anyway).

sr20goofus

Heavier in the front being a RWD car, you want the rear to be able to move a little more to compensate for torque and squat, it helps with traction.

Most coil over kits come with a 8k/6k setup with springs, which i believe is around 450lb/350lb front rear setup. As the car gains power and downforce the spring rates should also increase at the same rate. For roadracing i want a 12k/10k setup which is 670/550lbs, but my car also has around 300whp and I have a good bit of experience with it. Dont aim strait for ideal setup, go with something softer and then change the springs out after a few events so you can feel the difference and learn the car better.

michael h
Car: 96 240sx s14